BLOG OF RANDOMNESS

my random musings, now in words.

DO THE DANCE THING BABY.

Waaaay before Cher, Madonna, and the newly-crowned Dance Queen, Lady Gaga, there she was, reigning the position.

She is, DONNA SUMMER.

DONNA SUMMER

DONNA SUMMER

Here’s a snippet of her biography, (courtesy of Richard De La Font Agency).

Once upon a time, a young girl stood in front of the parishioners in a Boston church. She opened her mouth to sing, and a huge voice came out – moving the congregation to tears. At the moment the girl heard the voice of God tell her ‘You’re gonna be famous’. From then on the girl knew that she was destined for greatness. That girl grew up to become Donna Summer.

As usual, I knew about her existance, thanks to the amazing Youtube (typical, yes I know.), and she was performing her latest hit, Fame (The Game), and let me tell you, it sounds AWESOME. like AWESOME AWESOME. I am never too fond with dance music, and only the great ones can please my sometimes-selective pair of ears, so when I heard her voice, I know she will be on repeat in my playlist.

Before her stardom in the dance music scene, she actually used to front a rock band called The Crow. But then the band broke up, and she flew to Germany (GERMANY PEOPLE, WHATEVER FOR HMM??).

As I read her biography, she went to Germany because she joined  a musical titled- Hair. So as she was in Germany, she was active with her acting gigs, and eventually met an opportunity to record some music.  And pretty soon, she was a huge HUGE hit in Europe.

I sometimes question myself, why do Americans (and other people in fact, esp any mainstream radios), are not dance music friendly? Gone were the days where Cher’s music blasts from the speakers. Gone were the moments when Madonna was so into dance music.

EHH, Madge is still doing her thang with dance music. My bad. Check out her latest single, Celebration.heh.

Anyhoo, take for instance, Anastacia. She is much more popular in Europe rather than in her own America. Curious, hmm? Why is that, you think?

Donna’s performance on stage was spectacular. Its like Kylie Minogue, fused with a lil bit of Lady Gaga (sans the elaborate outfits, of course). I wish I could upload the video here, but due to my lack of information in uploading Youtube vids in blogs, I apologize regarding this matter in advance. BUT DO CHECK IT OUT, YES??

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2009 by in The Beats.

The Previous

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
